Aleksey's Adventure

And more…

Japan Photos (Part 2)

Go to:  (Part 1)  (Part 3)  (Part 4)  (Part 5)  (Part 6)  (Part 7)  (Part 8)  (Part 9)

**Please note that all pictures can be zoomed in further by clicking “Full View Size” on bottom right of the first enlargement**

Before visiting a new country I usually go on Google and simply type in the country’s name in ‘Image’ section. Afterwards I look at photographs of people, cities and just random things. Not the photoshopped picture with a beautiful sunset or that perfect image of a building that seems like it belongs to another world instead of earth. What I look for are not the polished pictures but the raw shots that capture the simplicity and keep the originality of the photographed. So I am posting these pictures for just as they are: raw, plenty and uncut.

I spent almost three months in Japan walking the 88 Temple Pilgrimage. Along the way taking many photographs. Unfortunately I was still lacking the needed skills of photo taking but some beautiful moments remain beautiful regardless of the angle photo was taken. Overall, there are 1,900 photos here stretching over 3 months period! I broke it down in to 9 section of a bit over 200 photo each part. All photos are in a chronological order. Each photo represents a moment of my 88 temple pilgrimage.

I will provide a very basic description of what an 88 Temple Pilgrimage in Shikoku, Japan is. There are 88 sacred temples circling around the island of Shikoku and a pilgrimage that connects all of them together. There are many ways to visit all of the temples. Many do so by a bus, some take a tour, others use motor bikes, cars and so on. However, it is said that if the pilgrimage is walked and all of the temples are visited, you will be spiritually enlightened at the end.

The pilgrimage is divided in to four stages. Shikoku literally means four provinces, and this pilgrimage covers all of them in a complete circle around the island. Starting from temple 1 to 88, each province has a specific meaning to this pilgrimage. The first province, temples 1-23 represent the idea of Awakening. The second province, temples 24-39 represents Austerity and Disciple. The third province, temples 40-65 is Attaining Enlightenment. The fourth and final province, temples 66-88 is Entering Nirvana. I will not go in to the history of the pilgrimage on this post but will expand on it another time.

In the end, I completed the 88 Temple Pilgrimage walk and also added the extra 20 bangai temples for the adventure of it. The bangai temples are the extra 20 optional temples that can be visited in addition to the original 88. The overall walk was around 1,600 kilometers and took me over two months. This trip was an adventure to me, filled with unexpected moments and experiences.

In time I will expand on some moments of this walk in short stories. One of them is how I was treated by a Chi Healer when I acquired an injury on my walk. The story can be found here: Meeting a Chi Healer

These pictures are here as much for me as they are for everyone else. For in time I may start forgetting and then I’ll have something to look back on and say: “Ahh, that was a fun time!”

Enjoy!

Thank you,
Aleksey

Go to:  (Part 1)  (Part 3)  (Part 4)  (Part 5)  (Part 6)  (Part 7)  (Part 8)  (Part 9)

8 comments on “Japan Photos (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 1) | Aleksey's Adventure

  2. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 3) | Aleksey's Adventure

  3. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 4) | Aleksey's Adventure

  4. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 5) | Aleksey's Adventure

  5. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 6) | Aleksey's Adventure

  6. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 7) | Aleksey's Adventure

  7. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 8) | Aleksey's Adventure

  8. Pingback: Japan Photos (Part 9) | Aleksey's Adventure

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2015 by in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , .